Interview with Hannah Craig

Hannah Craig - Runner

Hannah enjoys running as a hobby, especially important as her day job is 9 hours sitting down. She has run two marathons and is aiming to complete an Ironman.

What is your proudest running achievement?

Running the London Marathon in 2017. It was the first time I had run long distance on my own, as my partner normally runs with me. 3 weeks prior to the race I tripped on a pothole and really hurt my knee and was advised to pull out of the marathon. However, I had raised over £4,000 for charity so I felt I had to complete it.

What has running taught you?

That you can achieve so much more than you think is possible.

What is your most ambitious running goal?

I want to complete Ironman Tenby in 2022. Currently I have no idea how you can run a marathon after a 2.4-mile swim and 112-mile-cycle.

Have you got any memorable or funny running stories to share?

I think the Cancer Research mud race I ran was memorable as there was a group of us who were normally serious runners that ended up in puddles of mud laughing our heads off.

What has been your worst moment as a runner?

The worst moment has to be Snowdonia Marathon when I just had nothing in the tank. I had to DNF. It was horrible and I really struggled mentally for a few weeks. Luckily for me about six weeks afterwards my friend wanted to take up running so we started
running together. This helped me get my mojo back.

What is the most miles you’ve ever run in a week?

I think it was around 40 miles.

What has been your most serious running injury?

I got a stress fracture in 2019 simply from over doing it and not listening to my body.

What would persuade you to work with an online running coach?

Seeing their results from people they are currently coaching. Also personality.

What is the best advice you have ever received about your running?

Don’t compare yourself to others.

If you could go back and talk to yourself when you first started running, what would you say?

Invest in good trainers. When you start out you don’t want to pay a lot for kit as you don’t know if you are going to like the sport. That being said running with poor fitting trainers can hugely knock your motivation.

Have you got a running hero?

247 Running on Twitter, the challenges she takes up are crazy and she is so supportive of all runners.

In one sentence, what does running mean to you?

Everything.

Leave a comment