My Fast One Mile Challenge

1 Mile Fast - 2017

The mile, as a race, is an intriguing distance. It is the fundamental unit of measure that all road races are built upon, and yet is often forgotten as a test of overall fitness and assessment of progress towards other goals.

I first considered running a fast mile away from the track in early 2016 when, for the first time, I changed the settings on my Garmin sports watch to record mile splits.

I clocked 5:48.39. In subsequent months I lowered my best time to 5:38.41, 5:36.97 then 5:30.68, until in August 2016 I recorded four sub 5:30 miles, establishing my personal best as 5:08.41 (on the 22nd of that month).

Although I have since run numerous sub 6:00 miles, including in races such as the Witham May Day 5 Miler and Hardwick 10km, I have not managed to come any closer to the 5:00 mark. This is due in part to my reluctance to train specifically for the distance, instead preferring to use the distance (and shorter intervals such as quarter-mile, half-mile and three-quarter-mile) as repetitions during my speed workouts, for improving my performances at longer races.

In November 2017, after realising I had accumulated over 110 sub 6:00 miles in less than two years, I set myself an ambitious goal. For the first time in my running career I intend to focus solely on improving my one-mile personal record. I first took four weeks rest after my fourth Chelmsford Marathon in October 2017, then spent six weeks base training in preparation for my challenge.

My intention is to now train for 12 weeks, culminating in a time trial in the last week of March 2018 to compare my progress. I will use a local park as my ‘track’ and remind myself of why I am pursuing this life-time goal.

I ran 5:26.93 (my eighth current best time) on 30th December 2017 as a starting point for my challenge.

18 thoughts on “My Fast One Mile Challenge

  1. Setting and achieving goals is one of the awesome benefits of this incredible hobby of running, not to mention competing with yourself! Here’s to your upcoming success!

    Like

    1. Thanks for the support, Hutch. I agree entirely. I have also come to realise that even just setting and pursuing goals can be transformational and life-affirming. The journey tends to reveal what you’re really made of. Success, after all, is a very personal feeling and measurement.

      Like

    1. Thanks Mikey. I agree. It’s a distance I have long forgotten since my high school track days but I believe it can provide a great foundation for longer races. The training is tough but rewarding.

      Like

Leave a comment